Steering Committee (SC)

This committee is comprised of the DE-INBRE PD/PI (Melinda K. Duncan, Associate Vice President for Research and Delaware INBRE Principal Investigator) and one senior leader from each Network Partner Institution (NPI). The Steering Committee ensures that DE-INBRE activities build each NPI’s capacity to do biomedical research in accordance with their diverse institutional missions. This committee is also charged with identifying and supporting inter-institutional research initiatives while promoting the network-wide adoption of policies and procedures that support investigator driven and inter-institutional research collaborations.


Melinda K. Duncan (SC Chair)
Associate Vice President for Research, INBRE PI
University of Delaware

Rob Akins
Center Director/Principal Research Scientist
Nemour’s Children’s Health

Hacene Boukari
Director, OSCAR  Imaging Facility / Professor, Department of Physics and Engineering
Delaware State University

Matt Enright
Director of Data Analytics
Delaware Health Information Network

Dawn Everhart
INBRE Assistant Director
University of Delaware

Michael Fleming
President & CEO
Delaware Bioscience Association

Vicky Funanage
Executive Director, Research
The Nemours Foundation

Melissa Harrington
Associate Vice President for Research; Director, Delaware Center for Neuroscience Research, Director, Delaware Institute for Science of Technology
Delaware State University

Esosa Iriowen
Science Program Coordinator
Wilmington University

Omar Khan
President and CEO, Delaware Health Science Alliance, Physician Leader for Research and Scientific Affairs
Christiana Care Health System

Omar Khan
Enterprise Chief Scientific Officer

Kelvin Lee
Interim Vice President of Research, Scholarship and Innovation, Director of the Manufacturing USA National Institute for Innovation in Manufacturing Biopharmaceuticals (NIIMBL)
University of Delaware

Laura Lessard
Associate Professor & Program Coordinator DE-INBRE
University of Delaware

John McDowell
Professor, Department of Biology and Chemistry
Delaware Technical Community College

Robert E. Measley, Jr.
Chief of Medicine and Infectious Diseases, Designated Education Official
Wilmington VA Medical Center

Suzanne Milbourne
Research Advancement Associate
Wilmington VA Medical Center

Holly Miller
Laboratory Manager I
Delaware Public Health Laboratory

Milton Muldrow
Chair, Science, Biology & Environmental Science Policy
Wilmington University

Lydia Schlitzkus – (Committee Admin Support)
Coordinator-Events, Project Management, Communications DE-INBRE
University of Delaware

Scott Siegel
Director of Population Health, Value Institute Office of Transformation
Christiana Care Health System

Justina Thomas
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Delaware Technical Community College

K. Eric Wommack
Senior Associate Vice President for Research
University of Delaware